Faculty & Staff

Tarry Hum
Professor/Department Chair

PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

Urban planning, immigrant urbanism, community economic development

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5124
Email: tarry.hum@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Brian Rosa
Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Manchester

Urban redevelopment, socio-spatial theory, urban infrastructure, post-industrial cities

On Leave 2018-2019

More Information
Scott Larson
Lecturer/Undergraduate Advisor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: 718-997-5142
Email: scott.larson@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Alice Sardell
Professor/Undergraduate Advisor

PhD, New York University

Health policy, public policy, urban and community politics

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5143
Email: alice.sardell@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Melissa Checker
Associate Professor/ Environmental Studies Program Advisor

PhD, New York University

U.S. social movements, race, class and ethnicity in the U.S., urban environmentalism, environmental justice, climate justice

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5148
Email: mchecker@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
William Muraskin
Professor/Graduate Admissions Advisor

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5149
Email: william.muraskin@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Jeanne Chan
Departmental Secretary
Arooj Malik
College Assistant
Dana-Ain Davis
Professor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Urban anthropology, gender, race, public policy, participatory action research, Black Studies, feminist theory

Office: Center for the Study of Women and Society, CUNY Graduate Center
Email: dana.davis@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Martin Hanlon
Associate Professor

PhD, Columbia University

Public management, workforce issues, transportation policy

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5131
Email: martin.hanlon@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Christos Ioannides
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Political Science. Greek-American community, Greek-American relations. Director, Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997-4520
Email: christos.ioannides@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Madhulika Khandelwal
Associate Professor

PhD, Carnegie Mellon University

Asian-American communities, South Asian diaspora. Director, Asian/American Center

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 3050
Email: madhulika.khandelwal@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Jeff Maskovsky
Professor

PhD, Temple University

Urban ethnography; social movements; difference and inequality

Office: Department of Anthropology, CUNY Graduate Center
Email: jmaskovsky@gc.cuny.edu

More Information
William Muraskin
Professor

PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Social/urban history, health

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5149
Email: william.muraskin@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
John Seley
Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Urban planning, public policy, geography

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5141
Email: john.seley@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Stephen Steinberg
Professor

PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Race, ethnicity, and immigration; urban sociology;sociology of knowledge

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5130
Email: ssteinberg1@gc.cuny.edu

More Information
Natalie Bump Vena
Assistant Professor

JD, PhD, Northwestern University

Environmental law and policy; citizen science; volunteerism

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: natalie.vena@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Dwayne Baker
Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Illinois

urban planning, transportation planning, GIS, neighborhood change, gentrification/displacement, Transit-Oriented Developments

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: dwayne.baker@qc.cuny.edu

James Vacca
Distinguished Lecturer

James Vacca teaches courses in New York City Politics, Public Administration, Community Organizations and Urban Politics. He previously served as a NYC Councilman and Community Board District Manager. He brings to Queens College expertise in city governance, policy making , community engagement, municipal service delivery and non-profit management.

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: profjvacca@aol.com

Len Rodberg
Professor Emeritus
Ron Lawson
Professor Emeritus
Do Lee
Visiting Lecturer/ MA in Urban Affairs Advisor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

(im)mobilities; environmental psychology; participatory action research; critical race, class, gender, and migration

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: do.lee@qc.cuny.edu

Gavin McCormick
Distinguished Lecturer

MA, University of California, Berkeley

Sheryl McCarthy
Distinguished Lecturer

Master’s and law degrees from Columbia University

Additional Faculty Soon to join us

Spam prevention powered by Akismet

Skip to toolbar