Skip to toolbar

Faculty & Staff

Dwayne Baker
Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Illinois

urban planning, transportation planning, GIS, neighborhood change, gentrification/displacement, Transit-Oriented Developments

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: dwayne.baker@qc.cuny.edu

Sherry Baron
Professor

MD, Case Western Reserve University

MPH, University of Illinois at Chicago

Environmental public health, immigrant public health, and workers’ health and safety

Office: Remsen Hall Rm. 311
Telephone: (718) 670-4193
Email: sherry.baron@qc.cuny.edu

Melissa Checker
Associate Professor/ Environmental Studies Program Advisor

PhD, New York University

U.S. social movements, race, class and ethnicity in the U.S., urban environmentalism, environmental justice, climate justice

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5148
Email: mchecker@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Dana-Ain Davis
Professor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Urban anthropology, gender, race, public policy, participatory action research, Black Studies, feminist theory

Office: Center for the Study of Women and Society, CUNY Graduate Center
Email: dana.davis@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Martin Hanlon
Associate Professor

PhD, Columbia University

Public management, workforce issues, transportation policy

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5131
Email: martin.hanlon@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Tarry Hum
Professor/Department Chair

PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

Urban planning, immigrant urbanism, community economic development

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5124
Email: tarry.hum@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Scott Larson
Lecturer/Undergraduate Advisor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Urban redevelopment, gentrification, community-led urbanism

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: 718-997-5142
Email: scott.larson@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Madhulika Khandelwal
Associate Professor

PhD, Carnegie Mellon University

Asian-American communities, South Asian diaspora. Director, Asian/American Center

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 3050
Email: madhulika.khandelwal@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Do Lee
Assistant Professor/ MA in Urban Affairs Advisor

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

(im)mobilities; environmental psychology; participatory action research; critical race, class, gender, and migration

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: do.lee@qc.cuny.edu

Christos Ioannides
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Political Science. Greek-American community, Greek-American relations. Director, Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997-4520
Email: christos.ioannides@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
Jeff Maskovsky
Professor

PhD, Temple University

Urban ethnography; social movements; difference and inequality

Office: Department of Anthropology, CUNY Graduate Center
Email: jmaskovsky@gc.cuny.edu

More Information
Alice Sardell
Professor/Undergraduate Advisor

On leave Fall 2020

PhD, New York University

Health policy, public policy, urban and community politics

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Telephone: (718) 997 5143
Email: alice.sardell@qc.cuny.edu

More Information
James Vacca
Distinguished Lecturer

James Vacca teaches courses in New York City Politics, Public Administration, Community Organizations and Urban Politics. He previously served as a NYC Councilman and Community Board District Manager. He brings to Queens College expertise in city governance, policy making , community engagement, municipal service delivery and non-profit management.

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: profjvacca@aol.com

Natalie Bump Vena
Assistant Professor

JD, PhD, Northwestern University

Environmental law and policy; volunteerism; urban protected lands

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250
Email: natalie.vena@qc.cuny.edu

More Information

Annette Durant
Adjunct Professor
Juris Doctor, St. John’s University, School of Law
 
Human Resource Management, Labor Law, Labor Relations, Employee Discipline, Disciplinary Hearings, Negotiating Settlements, Arbitration, Union Advocacy, Equal Employment Opportunity
 
Powdermaker 250
Email:  annette.durrant@qc.cuny.edu
Stacey Plichta
Adjunct Full Professor

Occupational health, work-related stress, integrative medicine, intimate partner violence, interactions of victims/survivors with the healthcare system

Office: CUNY Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy

Email: stacey.plichta@sph.cuny.edu

Alan Takeall
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Alan Takeall

PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Race & ethnicity; social inequality; urban sociology; urban education

Office: Powdermaker Rm. 250

Email: alan.takeall@qc.cuny.edu

Ronald Lawson
Professor Emeritus

Housing, Tenant Movements, Religious Movements

SondleyWriter@gmail.com

William Muraskin
Professor Emeritus

PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Social/urban history, health

Email: william.muraskin@qc.cuny.edu

Len Rodberg
Professor Emeritus

PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

New York City neighborhood data, single payer healthcare in New York State, and energy policy

Email: Leonard.Rodberg@qc.cuny.edu

John Seley
Professor Emeritus

PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Urban planning, public policy, geography

Email: john.seley@qc.cuny.edu

Stephen Steinberg
Distinguished Professor Emeritus

PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Race, ethnicity, and immigration; urban sociology; sociology of knowledge

Email: ssteinberg1@gc.cuny.edu


Arooj Malik
College Assistant

arooj.malik@qc.cuny.edu

Jeanne Chan
Department Secretary

jeanne.chan@qc.cuny.edu

Spam prevention powered by Akismet